For many riders, motorcycles are their primary means of transportation. They represent a relatively affordable way to get around the Michigan roadways. Others ride their motorcycles recreationally. Whichever type of rider you are, as Michigan motorcycle accident lawyers, we hope that you ride with safety in mind.
If you’ve been injured in a motorcycle accident, however, we want to talk to you about your case. You may be entitled to damages for your medical bills, lost wages, property damage to your bike, and your pain and suffering. Call our Michigan motorcycle accident law firm for a free consultation about your motorcycle crash.
Why You Need a Michigan Motorcycle Accident Lawyer
If you’ve been involved in a motorcycle accident, you may have already received a call or visit from an insurance adjuster. While this representative may act like they have your best interests in mind, they represent the insurance company. Adjusters are known for approaching motorcycle accident victims with a settlement offer that falls short of a comprehensive payout. You will also be required to sign a waiver of liability that prevents you from recovering additional damages if your settlement turns out not to be enough.
On the other hand, if you hire a personal injury attorney who handles motorcycle accidents, they can review your expenses and the circumstances surrounding your motorcycle crash. If the insurer wants to give you less than you’re entitled to, your Michigan motorcycle accident lawyer can negotiate the settlement or litigate your claim through the courts. The motorcycle accident lawyers at All Law, PLLC, have extensive knowledge of Michigan law. They can review your motorcycle accident case and determine whether it’s viable. Call today for a free consultation.
Michigan Motorcycle Laws
Michigan motorcycle laws are different than other states. If you’ve been involved in a motorcycle accident in Michigan, call All Law, PLLC. If your accident occurred in another state, contact a personal injury law firm in your state.
In order to ride a motorcycle, you must have a valid Michigan driver’s license and a motorcycle endorsement. You can get your endorsement via the Michigan Rider Education Trainer Course or obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit and Skills Test.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws
In Michigan, in order to legally ride without a helmet, you must:
Be 21 or older
Carry a minimum of $20k in first-party medical benefits
Have had your motorcycle endorsement for at least two years.
Michigan requires the following coverage for motorcyclists:
$50,000 liability per person
$100,000 liability per accident
$10,000 in property damage
Types of Damages in a Motorcycle Accident Claim
If you’ve been injured in a motorcycle accident, you may be entitled to compensation. In most civil lawsuits, damages are broken into two categories:
Economic Damages: These include any type of damage that you can assign monetary damages to. For instance, medical bills are easily calculable because you can determine the total dollar amount for your medical bills. The same is true of lost wages. Economic damages make you economically whole for your crash.
Noneconomic Damages: If you’ve been involved in a motorcycle accident, you may have suffered emotional trauma, physical pain, and even a loss of physical capacity. It’s more difficult to put dollar amounts on these real but intangible losses. Motorcycle accident attorneys are able to calculate noneconomic damages using past cases and awards to justify their figures.
Michigan Motorcycle Accident Statistics
In 2019, there were 253,040 registered motorcycles in Michigan. That same year, according to the Michigan State Police, there were 2,176 injuries and 122 fatalities due to motorcycle accidents. That means that motorcycle fatalities comprised 13.5% of all fatal crashes but only 4% of all injury crashes.
Frequently Asked Questions about Michigan Motorcycle Accidents
The following information should not be construed as legal advice. These are some of the most frequently asked questions that personal injury lawyers hear. For specific legal advice about your claim, call our law firm and speak with a motorcycle accident attorney for free.
How much do Michigan motorcycle accident lawyers charge?
In the state of Michigan, motorcycle accident lawyers work on a contingency basis, which means that they are only paid if they settle your claim or successfully litigate it through the courts. These fees are set by the Michigan Rules of Professional Conduct. You should not have to pay out of pocket for a consultation. Ask to see a contingency fee agreement before committing to a law firm.
Can I collect damages if I’m the only person involved in my accident?
The answer to this question would depend on whether you were operating your motorcycle with the proper insurance. If you have personal injury protection (PIP), you should be covered for your injuries. The amount of damages that you can collect depends on the limits of your policy. Even if you were the only party involved in the accident, you might still be entitled to damages if someone else’s negligence contributed to your crash.
What is the statute of limitations for a Michigan motorcycle accident?
For most claims, the statute of limitations is three years from the date of the accident. While that may seem like a long time, you should consult with a motorcycle accident attorney as soon as possible. With time, valuable evidence can be lost, and witnesses become unavailable. Don’t delay in talking to an attorney.
Motorcycle Crash Lawyers in Michigan
The motorcycle accident lawyers at All Law, PLLC help motorcycle accident victims recover from their injuries by getting them the compensation they deserve. If you’ve been injured in a motorcycle accident, contact our firm immediately. There are no out-of-pocket costs for professional legal representation. Call today.
Have you or a loved one experienced any of the following?
Failure to diagnose or misdiagnosis of injury or disease
Misreading or ignoring laboratory results
Unnecessary surgery, or surgical errors
Improper medication or dosage
Poor follow-up or aftercare
Disregarding or not taking an appropriate patient history
Failure to order proper testing
Abuse of elderly residents in long-term care facilities, including physical or emotional injuries, sexual assault, financial exploitation, or other types of abuse.
Bedsores, decubitus ulcers, or pressure injuries